Posted in I/O

THIS YEAR’S RESOLUTION

As you can see, I didn’t decide in the past year what I will do this year. I just make resolutions as time goes on and if they are for a short time. I grind on them immediately

The resolution I have decided is to frequent that open market café and also practice some of those skills at home. You know this eating place that appears at a certain location in the evening? It consists of a portable table and chairs. There is usually a woman taking care of the operations and you can see what is going on as the cooking is going on.

The problem is this, most people disagree. The media and those ‘high people.’ don’t like that idea. The first thing they talk about is hygiene and some whatever then some more whatever. I’ve been eating here for some time and I can see it’s good. The problem is ‘those’ people view it as uncool and go to extreme steps to convince me it’s damn uncool. I am just being realistic. This is what I can afford.

There are so many ‘high class restaurants’ I see with nice interior décor, with high class waitress (whatever that means). Of course, they do come with fancy plastic faces but their food can’t beat the one that I eat at the open market cafe(Yes, I have tried them too). These restaurants pour much money into their visual appearance(you can insert here for example any Microsoft product: Very good blue screens all over the place but crappy code.) They have nice floors, very good tables and the fact is that you pay your money so that they maintain these but very little goes for improving the food quality. And some say people say they are very hygienic. My foot! They are very hygienic at the front but what about their cooking area? Have you ever gone there? Or the door has something like ‘staff only.’ Hygienic? Move behind those flashy buildings and see for yourself.

Try to ask for the recipe that they used to make that nice dish. There are high chances that you are asking the wrong person. It is the waiter or waitress you are asking, right? The chef is a rare sight outside the kitchen and in most cases, the ingredients of that meal is a 300 year kept secret that can’t uttered out even at the point of death. Or they can tell you some gibberish whatever-you-can’t-understand name. Do they call it exotic nowadays?

It is very different from the open market cafe. You don’t have to ask. Just come early and you will watch as the woman prepares up the meal. Still, if you ask, she will be more than happy to explain it to you. In the end, you will get yourself, a friend, a mentor, advisor and a good meal. And of course, you will learn a few tricks like “don’t serve me like I have had a meal in the last four hours.”

They say eating out is very dangerous for the pocket. Yes, but with my open market knowledge I can do some quality cooking at my place. And that’s my resolution in these few years. I have decided I must do some cooking sessions at my place. The first dish on the menu is snake meat. Yes, snakes are available if you know where to look. I am trying python meat in particular. Somebody released a recipe that many people recommend. It is called byte of python. You can do web search for it and see what it has. I am getting my teeth in it one of these days. It’s just what I needed. Home cooking at last courtesy of the open market cafe.

One thought on “THIS YEAR’S RESOLUTION

  1. Hi there – oh yes – open market cafes – I miss them here in SA – I used to frequent many of them on the streets of Budapest and Tunis – they were selling chicken, pancakes, fresh orange juice.

    We used to visit the jazz club, Kippies years ago in Johannesburg – outside the club – a guy was selling pizza – he called himself “director of pizza” – that was great pizza – and the jazz was great – the best in the land.

    Hm – by the way in the OpenCafe you make your own tea & cafe 🙂 we have our own “open cafe” you are welcome to pop in and have some.

Leave a Reply

